What is the subprime meltdown?

There is a lot of speculation and articles being written about the subprime meltdown & so much fear being propagated.  The fear of the subprime meltdown is affecting much more than I expected.  I’ve watched my stocks plummet (especially my WaMu stock) lately. 

I just read a blog that states so perfectly what this meltdown really is…

in a very simplistic description it is that people who should never have been loaned money were loaned money & now they can not afford the rising interest rates of their adjustable rates.   I personally loved the no money down thing & took advantage of it, but I also could afford too… 

In the “old days” people had to save for money down, have good credit & have a job.   Basically we are now returning to that type of senario as the rules on lending get tightened up again.   

This blog is a great read.  http://www.bloodhoundrealty.com/BloodhoundBlog/?p=1784

Leave a comment